God came down and met with Juanita, whose 14 year old daughter was murdered

24 Jan

From Out of the Ordinary (blog).  Here’s the gripping introduction:

Just over four years ago, I was on my way home from Red Deer where I had been at
a piano teacher’s conference. I was about an hour from home and I think I called
home to let Terry know where I was. He said something unusual for him: “Don’t
spare the gas – get home as soon as you can.”

I pressed him a little on why – after all, we are usually pretty careful with both gas mileage and speed.
He finally told me that our 14 year old daughter, Emily, was missing. I started
to drive pretty quickly. About 30 minutes later, I called back to find out if he
had heard anything else and he told me that it was confirmed that she was
dead.

I drove even faster. Faster than I’ve ever driven before for a long
period of time. I was actually hoping that the police would stop me so that they
could take me home. I think it took me about 50 minutes to get home from the
first phone call, instead of the usual hour.

As you can imagine, those 50 minutes, especially the last 20 or so, were hard. I was crying out to God. I
listened to two songs several times over. I prayed and cried and prayed some
more and cried. The phrase that came to mind, that I found out later Terry also
used in his initial announcement online, was “my precious daughter”.

I don’t remember all the thoughts that went through my mind. At that point, we
really didn’t know anything about what had happened. What I do remember, though,
is the emotion – the gut-wrenching pain of it all.

As I reached Edson, I took a slightly different way home than usual, trying to avoid the lights on the
highway so I could get home faster. As I came around the first corner off the
highway, at that moment, “God came down”. I don’t remember the exact phrasing of
the thought but I remember thinking, “God, why? And can you understand my
grief?”

Then I realized the truth – His Son had died, too.

Read the rest

