Lennon “imagine[d]” life without Christianity as liberating; so did Tim Lambesis, but…

18 Jul

John Lennon thought life would be much better if the world were filled with only the irreligious.  He wrote in “Imagine”

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too

Well, you could say he’s a dreamer, but he’s not the only one (see what I did there?).

Desiring to “live for today,” Tim Lambesis figured his life without Christianity would be better too.  Fraudulently pretending to be a Christian heavy metal singer, Tim Lambesis explains what dropping his faith meant for him (he’s now incarcerated for allegedly hiring a hit-man to murder his ex-wife).

“The first time I cheated on my wife, my interpretation of morality was now convenient for me,” Lambesis explained. “I felt less guilty if I decided, “Well, marriage isn’t a real thing, because Christianity isn’t real. God isn’t real. Therefore, marriage is just a stupid piece of paper with the government.”

I don’t like him, but his logic is compelling.

Oh, he also offered this little inside information for what it’s worth (consider the source, of course).

“We toured with more ‘Christian bands’ who actually aren’t Christians than bands that are,” Lambesis stated. “In 12 years of touring with As I Lay Dying, I would say maybe one in 10 Christian bands we toured with were actually Christian bands.”

