Disappointment or Embarrassment, that is the question

4 Sep

Disappointment or embarrassment, that is the question

thereformedmind

I’m not usually one to give parenting advice.  After all, I don’t think I’m very good at it.  But I did sleep at a Holiday Inn over the weekend (okay, it was a La Quinta), so here goes…

Let’s face it, children make parents angry.  Seems to be unavoidable.  I’ve noticed, however, that my anger stems from different reasons.  They sometimes make me mad because they get in the way of my doing what I want (I’d rather watch the news than make PBJ’s, I want quiet instead of laughter, I’d rather sit than clean up their messes, etc.).  I sometimes get angry at them because they don’t do things as fast as I do (impatience).

When children do or say bad things in public, we get angry too.  Here is where I want to focus on motive.  A child shows disrespect to an adult; a child won’t play with…

View original post 614 more words

